You are here

Committee Named to Lead Search for New President

Fifteen members of the Antioch College community have been named to begin the process of recruiting and identifying candidates for the president of newly independent College. The announcement was made by President Emerita of the City University of New York Graduate School and University Center, and University Professor Frances Degen Horowitz ’54, co-chair of the Antioch College Board Pro Tempore and chair of the search committee.

"Antioch College is at an exciting moment in its distinguished history," said Horowitz in announcing the appointments. "We are grateful to this exceptional team of talented individuals who are willing and able to devote countless hours to the search for Antioch’s next leader."

In February, the Board announced the selection of John Isaacson and his firm Isaacson, Miller as the search consultant. The firm has conducted hundreds of searches for leading institutions, including secretary for the Smithsonian Institution, and presidencies for Brown, Tufts, the University of Pennsylvania, and Vanderbilt. It is the hope of the Board to announce its selection by mid-summer or early fall. The interim president, Matthew Derr ‘89, will serve until the new president assumes office.

The members of the search committee are as follows:

Frances Horowitz ’54  (chair)

President Emerita of the City University of New York Graduate School and University Center, and University Professor

Jay Lorsch ‘55

Louis Kirstein Professor of Human Relations at the Harvard Business School

Barbara Winslow ‘68

Coordinator of the Women's Studies Program in the School of Education at Brooklyn College of the City University of New York

Ed Richard ‘59

President and trustee of the Edward H. Richard Foundation.

Susan Eklund-Leen

Antioch College Director of Cooperative Education and Campus Work

Tendaji Ganges ‘71

Assistant to the Chancellor and Executive Director, Educational Opportunity Initiatives at the University of Michigan-Flint

Joyce Idema ‘57

Director of press and public relations for the Santa Fe Opera

Steve Schwerner ‘60

Antioch College Professor and Dean of Students Emeritus

Joe Foley ‘64

Professor Emeritus of Communication, The Ohio State University

David Goodman ‘69

Principal, North Arrows LLC

Shelby Chestnut ‘05

Santa Fe Art Institute Artist and Writers Residency Assistant

Nick Boutis

Executive Director of Glen Helen Ecology Institute

Shadia Alvarez ‘96

Assistant Principal, New Day Academy

Lisa Denise Delpit ‘74                 

Professor, Urban Education, Florida International University Center for Urban Education and Innovation, and Visiting Scholar at Southern University

Judith “Judy” Voet ‘63

Emerita Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Swarthmore College